# **South Westmorland Seniors Bowling League**

Chairman	Secretary	Treasurer
Mr. Ian Hayton	Mr Kevin O'Neil	Mr Malcolm Booker
30 Chestnut Close	1 Buttermere Drive	31 Archers Meadow
Holme LA6 1RX	Kendal LA9 7PA	Kendal LA9 7DY

# Minutes of 2024 Annual General Meeting

Held at Burneside Cricket Club at 1.30 on Thursday 7th November 2024

### 1. Welcome

The Chairman welcomed club representatives to the meeting and passed on Tony Batty's apologies as he was unable to attend.

### 2. Remembrance

A minutes silence was observed in remembrance of all those senior's bowlers who had sadly passed away since the 2023 AGM.

They are:

Barry Holmes Netherfield Mal Barker Netherfield Netherfield Russel Draper Kirkby Lonsdale Joe Thomlinson Susan Auger Kirkby Lonsdale Val Finch Sedbergh Richard Wallbank Milnthorpe Brian Taylor Warton John McCormick Lindale Glenise Heywood Lindale Geoff Harrison Heversham John Hill Holme Peter Harrold Springfield Springfield Clifford Murphy Sue Brearley Subscription Frank Longstaff Subscription David Llewelyn Subscription Brian Graveson Subscription Joe Farr Endmoor Barbara Thompson Endmoor **Bolton Le Sands** John Easton

# 3. Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Lindal B.C., Levens B.C. and a Individual apology from Isobel Williamson (Subscription)

Of the 29 member clubs 26 were represented at the meeting

### 4. Minutes of 2023 AGM held on 9th November 2023

The minutes of the 2023 AGM held on Thursday 9th November 2023 were proposed for acceptance by Windermere BC and seconded by Milnthorpe BC and were carried unanimously by the meeting.

### 5. Any matters arising from 2023 minutes

Election of new Chairman-See item 8-election of Officers.

Process of election for choosing future league President.

Although the post of league President is not required at this time, the process for future election of President was discussed. It became clear, there was no league member who wanted to volunteer for the post. It was then proposed that a random draw of all clubs, apart from clubs that already had a member on the committee, would be made.

The first club drawn, would provide the league President for a 2 year period.

At the end of the 2 year period, the next club alphabetically would provide the next President for a 2 year period.

This method was proposed by Holme B.C. and seconded by Endmoor B.C. and was carried unanimously by the meeting.

Appointment of league representatives to CCGBA was not discussed.

### 6. Secretary's report

The Secretary pointed out that, after a terrible start to the season weather wise, most greens recovered well and a successful season was had by all clubs.

Only 6 matches were rescheduled for later in the season and that was for lack of players, rather than the weather.

The lack of players available showed in the fact that 111 players had to play twice during the season.

There were only 7 walkover games all season from a total of 534 games. 4 down on the previous season.

The Secretary had to deal with over 200 emails as well as a number of phone calls during the season.

Although the Secretary understands this is part of the role of the Secretary, many of the issues could have been dealt with by club captain's themselves.

The Secretary was still chasing clubs to update players coming up as unlisted on the results site, right up to the last week of the season.

Whilst the Secretary is still happy to chase up these numbers for clubs, it would be appreciated if clubs could try for themselves first.

The Secretary thanked Denise Noble, Malcolm Booker, Mike Beckett, Colin Howarth and Mike Fell for their help this year.

# 7. Treasurer's report

A copy of the 2024 financial balance sheet had been circulated prior to the meeting and was proposed for acceptance by Kirkby Lonsdale B.C. and seconded by Endmoor B.C. Due to the healthy balance sheet this year, it was proposed by the treasurer that there would be no fee payment required for next season from clubs that were members in the 2024 season. Fees would be required from any new teams wishing to join the league for the 2025 season. This was carried unanimously by members.

### 8. Election of Officers

Chairman Mr Ian Hayton informed the meeting he was no longer able to carry on with the role and wished to stand down after this meeting.

No one came forward wishing to take up this position and the same random draw agreed for the future election of the President was discussed.

This proposal was defeated in a members vote.

After extended discussion Maria Gilpin from Burneside B.C. volunteered to take up this position.

The committee thanked Maria and looked forward to working with her for the foreseeable future.

# 9. Presentation of Trophies

	Winners	Runners up
Division 1	Netherfield A	Warton A
Division 2	Carnforth A	Allithwaite A
Division 3	Bolton Le Sands B	Heversham A
Division 4	Crosthwaite B	Victoria B
Division 5	Ambleside	Abbot Hall B

### 10. Motions received

Proposal to stagger the start of all leagues so all the leagues finish at the same time. Leagues with fewer than 12 teams will start later than divisions 1 and 2 and therefore hopefully benefitting from better weather.

Proposed by Sedbergh B.C. and seconded by Heversham B.C. and carried unanimously.

# 11. New team requests and withdrawals for 2025 season

One new request to join the league was made by Lower Holker and was accepted unanimously.

# 12. Make up of divisions for 2025 season

Division 1=12 teams

Division 2=12 teams

Division 3=11 teams

Division 4=10 teams

Division 5=10 teams

With Lower Holker now entering a second team into the league and going into division 5,

The 3rd place teams in divisions 4 and 5 will now be promoted alongside the top two. Springfield B will now be promoted to division 3 & Silverdale B will be promoted to division 4.

These extra promotions are all subject to no team dropping out of the league before the start of the 2025 season.

### 13. Any other business

Sedbergh B.C. informed the meeting they were planning an open doubles competition next season around August.

The committee was asked if it was possible for individual clubs to delete players no longer affiliated to their club or it had to be done by the Secretary.

I have since looked at the website and clubs can do this themselves. If any club is not able to do this, I will delete them on their behalf if I am given the relevant names.

The possible issue of there being 3 teams from 1 club in the same league was raised and it was agreed to leave this for now and rule on it if it ever happened.

A vote of thanks to the Chairman for all his effort during his tenure was made from the members as well as a thanks to all committee members for agreeing to carry on in their roles.

Chairman thanked the committee for their hard work and commitment.

After the meeting closed, I was approached by a number of members about not being able to hear when sitting near the back of the hall.

I was asked if a sound system with a microphone was available in the future. If not, it would help if the committee could stand whilst speaking.

# 14. Date, time and place of 2025 meeting

Meeting to take place at 1.30 on the 6th November 2025 at Burneside Cricket club