# **ROTHAY BOWLING LEAGUE**

# MINUTES OF THE ROTHAY BOWLING LEAGUE HELD ON TUESDAY 19 NOVEMBER 2024 AT 7pm AT AMBLESIDE BOWLING CLUB

# <u>Present</u>

Sue Todd (Chairman), Peter Milner (Treasurer), Jeff Harris (President), Linda Tebay, Yvonne Gregory. Clubs represented were: Allithwaite, Ambleside, Bowness, Burneside, Coniston, Crosthwaite, Hawkshead, Levens, Staveley & Windermere

# **Apologies**

None

# Chairman's Remarks

The Chairman welcomed everyone to the meeting and thanked Ambleside for hosting this meeting. She asked everyone to stand in memory of those bowlers who had passed away during the past year – George Brown, Pat Banks, Dennis Blair, Lynn Slater, Gordon Roberts and Frank Jordan.

The Chairman then went on to thank all clubs and their respective team captains. She also thanked Burneside for hosting the Merit Competition on 1 September. Gave grateful thanks to Jeff for his 3 years presidency and also thanked Peter for keeping the accounts of the league.

# <u>Minutes</u>

The minutes of the 2023 AGM had been read and were approved and signed as a correct record.

# Matters arising

None

# Treasurer's Report

All attendees had sight of the accounts which showed a loss of  $\pounds$ 80. Ambleside and Coniston had both paid for 2 teams but played only one each during the season so their money has been held over for 2025.

Julie Johnson asked about the cost of the trophies, had any been bought this season. Sue Todd said she had bought 4 trophies. (what should have been added was that the figure shown included engraving)

# Adoption of the minutes/reports

Proposed – Crosthwaite, Seconded – Ambleside and passed by the meeting.

#### Notices of Motion

Proposed by Claire Backhouse, Windermere B. To reduce the number of players in a team to 6. Rationale – to alleviate the struggle to find players and to keep or increase the number of clubs participating in the league. NO SECONDER

Runner up - Windermerof the last two years, I propose that the increase in the subscription for each team goes from  $\pounds$ 15 to  $\pounds$ 20. Rationale – the league cannot keep on sustaining losses.

Proposed – Ambleside, Seconded – Staveley and passed by the meeting.

#### **Election of Officers**

President – Bernard Tebay Proposed Staveley, Seconded – Levens and passed Chairman – Sue Todd Proposed Staveley, Seconded Ambleside and passed Treasurer – Peter Milner Proposed Staveley, Seconded Windermere and passed MB Administrator – Joanne Stonehouse Proposed Staveley, Seconded Coniston and passed

#### **Date of League Events**

Division 1 - Start Monday 5 May, finish 4 August Division 2 – Start Monday 5 May, finish 4 August This assumes that the number of teams remains the same

Individual Merits – agreed as Sunday 31 August 2025, venue Hawkshead

# **Presentation of Awards**

Presentations were made as follows:

**Division 1** Winner – Windermere A Runner up – Levens

**Division 2** Winner – Burneside Runner up – Windermere B

**Division 1 Merits** Winner – Paul Kissock, Windermere A Runner up – Alan Gilpin, Windermere A

#### **Division 2 Merits** Winner – Kevin Bateman, Burneside

Runner up – Vinnie Harper, Burneside

Congratulations were also given to the Merit winners – Division 1 – Stephen Greenway; Division 2 – Andrew Atkinson

# League Structure

Leven Valley will not be taking part in 2025 as they have quit their green at Haverthwaite.

The Chairman said that she would ask Joanne to start doing the fixtures at the end of January and asked if any clubs wished to enter a second team to let her know.

# Any other business

None

The meeting closed at 7.25 pm